Font Size:

About the American Board of Physician Specialties

The official multi-specialty board certifying body of the American Association of Physician Specialists (AAPS),  is the American Board of Physician Specialties (ABPS). The ABPS is the third-largest board nationally recognized certifying body, providing certification in 18 distinct specialties through 12 Member Boards. The ABPS formation was based on a philosophy of inclusion for qualified allopathic and osteopathic physicians who are driven to provide the finest patient care available.

Eligibility requirements and testing standards of the ABPS are as stringent as any board certifying body in the world. Any physician who achieves board certification through an ABPS member board will have demonstrated a mastery of the core body of knowledge and skills required to practice a chosen specialty. In addition, ABPS members are encouraged to act as advocates within their specialties, and to share best practices with fellow Diplomates and the public at large.

The mission of the ABPS is to set rigorous standards of certification, at all times furthering patient care not only in the major cities, but in rural areas that are sometimes forgotten. ABPS board certified physicians are expected to always focus on community needs, to place patients ahead of the business of medicine and to adhere to the highest ethical standards.

The list of values embraced by the ABPS is as follows:

  • Integrity, trust and respect
  • Open and honest communications
  • Sharing knowledge and best practices
  • Advocating for the highest level of patient care
  • Compassion

The ABPS member boards conduct exams in May and November of each year. The application deadline for May exams is the preceding December 1. The deadline to apply for November exams is the preceding May 1.

To learn more, contact the ABPS today or click here to go to the official ABPS website.