Font Size:

2019 Awards and Recognition

The following awards were presented at the 2019 AAPS House of Delegates & Annual Scientific Meeting during the President’s Awards Dinner on June 22, 2019.

E.O. Martin Award

Craig S. Smith, MD

The E.O. Martin Award is the highest honor bestowed annually upon individuals by the AAPS. The award is named in honor of E.O. Martin, DO, FAASS, who founded the AAPS (originally known as the American Association of Osteopathic Physicians) in 1952. Each year, the E.O. Martin Award Committee honors an individual or individuals who have made a significant contribution to the AAPS, affiliated Academies of Medicine and Boards of Certification, the medical profession and the community.

Thomas Ebner Leadership Award Steven G. Carin, Jr. “Giddy-up” Leadership Award

Jerry A. Allison, MD, MSH, CPE, FAAEP

The Thomas Ebner Leadership Award is presented annually to a physician member who has unequivocally demonstrated superb leadership in an incomparable fashion that has continually positioned the Association for success.

Elizabeth Maxwell-Schmidt, MD, FAAEP, FACEP

The Steven G. Carin, Jr. “Giddy-up” Leadership Award is presented to an individual who has unequivocally demonstrated distinguished leadership in the Association in an extraordinary and incomparable manner with emphasis on perseverance, tenaciousness and resiliency.

David G.C. McCann, MD, Devotion Award American Academy of Disaster Medicine Distinguished Service Award

Terrance Lee Baker, MD, MS, FAAEP

The David G.C. McCann award is presented to an individual who has indisputably revealed a level of extraordinary faith in leadership in the Association, in an unparalleled demonstration of conviction and principles that has continually positioned the organization for success, and who possesses an uncanny faithfulness in spirit and deed.

Paul K. Carlton, Jr., MD, FACS
Lt General, USAF, MC, Retired

The AADM Distinguished Service Award honors deserving individuals, organizations and communities positively affecting public health care in the disaster life cycle of preparation, planning, response and recovery.

Degree of Fellow Recipients

Left to Right

Jack B. Davidoff, MD, FAADM – Disaster Medicine

Frank J. Nocilla, MD, FAAIM – Internal Medicine

Giovanna Ciocca, MD, FAASD – Dermatology

Alex John Beuning, MD, FAAEP – Emergency Medicine

AAPS affiliated Academies of Medicine may honor those physicians who meet specific criteria by awarding the Degree of Fellow in the applicable Academy. Click here to download Degree of Fellow requirements. Applications must be submitted by December 31 of the year preceding the presentation of the award which is during the AAPS Annual Scientific meeting each June. 

Physician of the Year Awards
Robert A. DeSimone, MD
Jeffrey B. Stricker, DO, MBA
Lorraine M. Giordano, MD, FACEP, FAADM
Disaster Medicine
Vincent L. Imbriani, MD, FAAEP
Emergency Medicine
Mary L. Jackson-Hammond, MD
Family Medicine

Chris Kunis, MD
Internal Medicine
Steve Chikezie Ideyi, MD

Henry E. Martinez, MD
Steven L. Arnold, MD
Urgent Care Medicine
The Physician of the Year award may be presented by each specialty to a member who has contributed to the growth, recognition and leadership of the Academy of Medicine/Board of Certification. Selected by peers within the Academy/Board, one member is honored annually.