Font Size:

American Association of Physician Specialists Inc. (AAPS) 2010 – 2011 Officers

Tampa, FL – Anthony P. Russo, D.O., FAAA, of Bluffton, South Carolina has been elected president of the American Association of Physician Specialists, Inc. (AAPS) for 2010-11.  Dr. Russo, an anesthesiologist with Anesthesia Associates of Savannah, has an office in Georgia and South Carolina.   Dr. Russo has been a member of AAPS since 1987 and succeeds Scott Barnes, D.O., FAAIM, of Lemoyne, PA.

“The American Association of Physician Specialists will continue to advance the art and science of medicine by inclusively promoting dialogue between allopathic and osteopathic physicians, said Russo. “AAPS’ certifying body, ABPS, uniquely blends the ideas and approaches of both allopathic and osteopathic training into its physician board certification program.”

The 2010 – 2011 slate of AAPS officers elected by the AAPS House of Delegates include:

President:  Anthony P. Russo, D.O., FAAA
President-Elect:  David G. C. McGann, M.D., FAASFP
Vice President:   A. Robert Cerrato, D.O., J.D.
Secretary/Treasurer:  Betsy Schenck, D.O., FAAEP
Membership Officer:  Douglas L. Marciniak, D.O., FAAIM

The American Association of Physician Specialists Inc. is a 501 (c) (6) not-for-profit organization organized in 1950 for the purpose of providing a clinically recognized mechanism for specialty certification for physicians who had obtained advanced training in various medical specialties.

The American Association of Physician Specialists Inc. (AAPS) is the governing body of the American Board of Physician Specialties (ABPS) which certifies and recertifies allopathic (M.D.) and osteopathic (D.O.) physicians from all 50 states and Canada in eighteen medical specialties.  ABPS recently established innovative industry leading boards of certification in disaster medicine, hospital medicine, family medicine obstetrics and urgent care medicine. Additional information about AAPS is available at