Awards and Recognition

AAPS would like to congratulate the following award recipients. Please join us in recognizing these individuals for their important contributions to AAPS, ABPS, and their specialty.

E. O. Martin Award

The E. O. Martin Award is the highest honor bestowed annually upon individuals by the AAPS. The award is named in honor of E. O. Martin, DO, FAASS, who founded the AAPS (originally known as the American Association of Osteopathic Physicians) in 1952. Each year, the E. O. Martin Award Committee honors an individual or individuals who have made a significant contribution to the AAPS, affiliated Academies of Medicine and Boards of Certification, the medical profession and the community.

See More
Mark DeSantis, DO, MS, FAAR
Thomas Ebner Leadership Award

The Thomas Ebner Leadership Award is presented annually to a physician member who has unequivocally demonstrated superb leadership in an incomparable fashion that has continually positioned the Association for success

See More
Arthur Cooper, MD, MS, FACS, FAADM
David G.C. McCann, MD, Devotion Award

The David G.C. McCann, MD, Devotion Award is presented to an individual who has indisputably revealed a level of extraordinary faith in leadership in the Association, in an unparalleled demonstration of conviction and principles that has continually positioned the organization for success, and who possesses an uncanny faithfulness in spirit and deed.

See More
Mary L. Jackson-Hammond, MD
Steven G. Carin, Jr., DO, “Giddy-up” Leadership Award

The Steven G. Carin, Jr., DO, “Giddy-up” Leadership Award is presented to an individual who has unequivocally demonstrated distinguished leadership in the Association in an extraordinary and incomparable manner with emphasis on perseverance, tenaciousness and resiliency.

See More
Jerry A. Allison, MD, MSH, CPE, FAAEP
American Academy of Disaster Medicine Distinguished Service Award

The AADM Distinguished Service Award honors deserving individuals, organizations, and communities positively affecting public health care in the disaster life cycle of preparation, planning, response, and recovery.

See More
Father Marek Machala and the Pastoral Family Care Department and Foundation, Archdiocese of Przemysl
Leslie Mukau, MD, Excellence in Education Award

The Leslie Mukau, MD, Excellence in Education Award is presented to a member who has made significant and outstanding contributions to the educational mission of the AAPS and/or the medical community.

See More
Alex John Beuning, MD, FAAEP

Degree of Fellow Recipient

The Degree of Fellow may be awarded by each Academy of Medicine for merit and outstanding accomplishments in the specialty represented by the Academy or outstanding service to the Academy.

See More
Frank J. Nocilla, MD, FAAIM, FAADM
Disaster Medicine
Physician of the Year Awards

The Physician of the Year Award may be presented by an Academy of Medicine or Board of Certification to a member who has contributed to the growth, recognition, and leadership of the Academy/Board.

See More
Lingappa S. Amernath, MD, FAAEP
Emergency Medicine
See More
Joseph M. Damiani, MD, FAAPRS
See More
Elizabeth Dimitri, DO
See More
William J. Farrell, MD, MBA
Administrative Medicine
See More
Lewis W. Marshall, Jr., MD, JD, FAAEP, FAADM
Disaster Medicine
See More
Salvatore V. Raccuia, MD
See More
Marcos G. Rosado, MD
See More
Myles Spar, MD
Integrative Medicine