Font Size:

2018 Awards and Recognition

The following awards were presented at the 2018 AAPS House of Delegates & Annual Scientific Meeting during the President’s Awards Dinner on June 23, 2018.

E.O. Martin Award

Madeline Zak, DO, FAASS

The E.O. Martin Award is the highest honor bestowed annually upon individuals by the AAPS. The award is named in honor of E.O. Martin, DO, FAASS, who founded the AAPS (originally known as the American Association of Osteopathic Physicians) in 1952. Each year, the E.O. Martin Award Committee honors an individual or individuals who have made a significant contribution to the AAPS, affiliated Academies of Medicine and Boards of Certification, the medical profession and the community.

Thomas Ebner Leadership Award Steven G. Carin, Jr. “Giddy-up” Leadership Award

Terrance Lee Baker, MD, MS, FAAEP

The Thomas Ebner Leadership Award is presented annually to a physician member who has unequivocally demonstrated superb leadership in an incomparable fashion that has continually positioned the Association for success.

Scott G. Barnes, DO, FAAIM

The Steven G. Carin, Jr. “Giddy-up” Leadership Award is presented to an individual who has unequivocally demonstrated distinguished leadership in the Association in an extraordinary and incomparable manner with emphasis on perseverance, tenaciousness and resiliency.

David G.C. McCann, MD, Devotion Award American Academy of Disaster Medicine Distinguished Service Award

Sarah E. Gilbert, MD, FAAEP

The David G.C. McCann award is presented to an individual who has indisputably revealed a level of extraordinary faith in leadership in the Association, in an unparalleled demonstration of conviction and principles that has continually positioned the organization for success, and who possesses an uncanny faithfulness in spirit and deed.

Edward J. Gabriel, MPA, EMT-P, CEM, CBCP

The AADM Distinguished Service Award honors deserving individuals, organizations and communities positively affecting public health care in the disaster life cycle of preparation, planning, response and recovery.

Degree of Fellow Recipients

Left to Right

Joachin U. Okafor, MD, FAAEP – Emergency Medicine

Adan R. Atriham, MD, FAAEP – Emergency Medicine

Gustavo G. Leon, MD, FAASS – Surgery

Carol J. Iddins, MD, FAADM – Disaster Medicine

Edward V. Reardon, DO, FAAIM – Internal Medicine

Jerry A. Allison, MD, MSH, CPE, FAAEP – Emergency Medicine

Bruce R. Guerdan, MD, MPH, FAAEP (not pictured) – Emergency Medicine

AAPS affiliated Academies of Medicine may honor those physicians who meet specific criteria by awarding the Degree of Fellow in the applicable Academy. For a full listing of the eligibility requirements, see below.  Applications must be submitted by December 31 of the year preceding the presentation of the award which is during the AAPS Annual Scientific meeting each June. To download Degree of Fellow requirements, click here

Physician of the Year Awards
Caleb A. Awoniyi, MD, PhD, FAAA
Kenneth A. Wallace, III, MD
Frank J. Nocilla, MD
Disaster Medicine & Internal Medicine
Henri Lamothe, MD, FAAEP
Emergency Medicine
Isaac S. Yoon, MD
Family Medicine
Babak Marefat, MD
Joseph D. Toscano, MD
Urgent Care Medicine
The Physician of the Year award may be presented by each Academy of Medicine to a member who has contributed to the growth, recognition and leadership of the Academy. Selected by peers within the Academy, one member is honored annually.