Font Size:

2017 Awards and Recognition

The following awards were presented at the 2017 AAPS House of Delegates & Annual Scientific Meeting during the President’s Awards Dinner on July 8, 2017.

E.O. Martin Award

Thomas Ebner Leadership Award

Jack V. Greiner, DO, PhD, FAASS

The E.O. Martin Award is the highest honor bestowed annually upon individuals by the AAPS. The award is named in honor of E.O. Martin, D.O., FAASS, who founded the AAPS (originally known as the American Association of Osteopathic Physicians) in 1952. Each year, the E.O. Martin Award Committee honors an individual or individuals who have made a significant contribution to the AAPS, affiliated Academies of Medicine and Boards of Certification, the medical profession and the community.

Mark DeSantis, DO, FAAR

The Thomas Ebner Leadership Award is presented annually to a physician member who has unequivocally demonstrated superb leadership in an incomparable fashion that has continually positioned the Association for success.

Steven G. Carin, Jr. “Giddy-up” Leadership Award

David G.C. McCann, MD, Devotion Award

Terrance Lee Baker, MD, MS, FAAEP

The Steven G. Carin, Jr. “Giddy-up” Leadership Award is presented to an individual who has unequivocally demonstrated distinguished leadership in the Association in an extraordinary and incomparable manner with emphasis on perseverance, tenaciousness and resiliency.

Brian John Feaver, MD, FAASFM

The David G.C. McCann award is presented to an individual who has indisputably revealed a level of extraordinary faith in leadership in the Association, in an unparalleled demonstration of conviction and principles that has continually positioned the organization for success, and who possesses an uncanny faithfulness in spirit and deed.

American Academy of Disaster Medicine Distinguished Service Award

American Academy of Disaster Medicine Lifetime Achievement Award

Marvin L. Birnbaum, MD, PhD

Maurice A. Ramirez, DO

The AADM Distinguished Service Award honors deserving individuals, organizations and communities positively affecting public health care in the disaster life cycle of preparation, planning, response and recovery.

Degree of Fellow Recipients

Andrzej Skarpetowski, MD, FAAEP
Emergency Medicine

Michelle Y. Yates, MD, FAAEP
Emergency Medicine

Henri Lamothe, MD, FAAEP
Emergency Medicine

AAPS affiliated Academies of Medicine may honor those physicians who meet specific criteria by awarding the Degree of Fellow in the applicable Academy. For a full listing of the eligibility requirements, see below.  Applications must be submitted by December 31 of the year preceding the presentation of the award which is during the AAPS Annual Scientific meeting each June. To download Degree of Fellow requirements, click here.

Physician of the Year Awards

Musa Tangoren, MD

Giovanna Ciocca, MD

Graeme Browne, MD, FAAEP, FAADM
Disaster Medicine & 

Emergency Medicine

Edward Reardon, DO
Internal Medicine

Grant Edward Walker, MD
Orthopedic Surgery

Francesco P. Polizzi, DO

Rafeak Muhammad, MD

The Physician of the Year award may be presented by each Academy of Medicine to a member who has contributed to the growth, recognition and leadership of the Academy. Selected by peers within the Academy, one member is honored annually.