Font Size:

AAPS Issues Final Call for Louis W. Sullivan, MD, Award Nominations

Tampa, FL-The American Association of Physician Specialists, Inc. (AAPS) has issued a final call nominations for theLouis W. Sullivan, MD, 2014 Health Policy Leadership Award. The deadline for nominations is April 30.

The award is presented in honor of Louis W. Sullivan, M.D., former Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (1989-93) and founder of the prestigious Morehouse School of Medicine in Atlanta, GA.

Candidates for the Sullivan Award will have made, or will be making a truly outstanding contribution through an initiative to improve the health status of individuals, targeted groups, communities or the nation. The individual may have a primary role either inside or outside the public health arena. To nominate an individual for the award, please visit The award will be presented June 21 at the AAPS House of Delegates & Annual Scientific Meeting in Tampa.

Dr. Sullivan, currently a public member of the AAPS Board of Directors, is Chairman of the Board of the National Health Museum in Atlanta. The American Association of Physician Specialists, Inc.® is the governing body of theAmerican Board of Physician Specialties® (ABPS), which certifies qualified allopathic and osteopathic physicians in 18 specialties.