Font Size:

2014 Awards and Recognition

The following awards were presented during the AAPS Annual Scientific meeting at the President’s Awards Dinner on June 21, 2014.

E.O. Martin Award Recipients:

Mohammed Tabibi, D.O., FAASS

Martin E. Thornton, D.O.

The E.O. Martin Award is the highest honor bestowed annually upon individuals by the AAPS. The award is named in honor of E.O. Martin, D.O., FAASS, who founded the AAPS (originally known as the American Association of Osteopathic Physicians) in 1952. Each year, the E.O. Martin Award Committee honors an individual who has made a significant contribution to the AAPS, affiliated Academies of Medicine and Boards of Certification, the medical profession and the community.

Thomas Ebner Leadership Award Recipient:

Lawrence N. Stein, M.D., FAASOS

The Thomas Ebner Leadership Award is presented annually to a physician member who has unequivocally demonstrated superb leadership in an incomparable fashion that has continually positioned the Association for success.

David G. C. McCann, M.D. Devotion Award Recipient:

Anthony P. Russo, Jr., D.O., FAAA

The David G.C. McCann award is presented to a physician member who has indisputably revealed a level of extraordinary faith in leadership, in the Association, in an unparalleled demonstration of conviction and principles that has continually positioned the organization for success.

Louis W. Sullivan Health Policy Leadership Award Recipient:

Daniel M. Avery, Jr., M.D., FAASS

The Louis W. Sullivan Health Leadership Award is presented to an individual whereby his/her profession and dedication in health policy has improved the welfare of Americans. The award is presented in the honor of Louis W. Sullivan, M.D., former Secretary, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (1989-1993) and founder of the prestigious Morehouse School of Medicine in Atlanta. Dr. Sullivan is an AAPS Board of Directors Public Member.

American Academy of Disaster Medicine Distinguished Service Award Recipient:

Nicole Lurie, M.D., M.S.P.H

The AADM Distinguished Service Award honors deserving individuals, organizations and communities positively affecting public health care in the disaster life cycle of preparation, planning, response and recovery.  Dr. Lurie is recognized by AADM for her leadership role in the Hurricane Sandy response. Her leadership made a huge difference for the people of the Northeast disaster zone during this huge natural disaster.

Physician of the Year Award Recipients:

Svetlana Rubakovic, M.D.Dermatology
Heidi Cordi, M.D., FACEPDisaster Medicine
Leslie Mukau, M.D., FAAEP, FACEPEmergency Physicians
William Garrity, D.O., FAASFPFamily Practice
Arthur Berman, M.D., FAAIMInternal Medicine
Mark DeSantis, D.O.Radiology
David E. Brown, D.O., FAASSSurgery

The Physician of the Year award may be presented by each Academy of Medicine to a member who has contributed to the growth, recognition and leadership of the Academy. Selected by peers within the Academy, one member is honored annually.

Degree of Fellow Recipients:

Muhammad A. Ahmed, M.D., FAAEPEmergency Medicine
Lingappa S. Amernath, M.D., FAAEPEmergency Medicine

AAPS affiliated Academies of Medicine may honor those physicians who meet specific criteria by awarding the Degree of Fellow in the applicable Academy. For a full listing of the eligibility requirements, see below.  Applications must be submitted by December 31 of the year preceding the presentation of the award which is during the AAPS Annual Scientific meeting each June.

To download Degree of Fellow requirements, click here.